Dickens’ Other Christmas Writings

We all know that Dickens wrote A Christmas Carol; its actual title is A Christmas Carol in Prose. Being A Ghost Story of Christmas. You can read the original English 1843 edition with its colored illustrations by John Leech here. But did you know that that title was just the first of his “Christmas Books”? He followed the above title with The Chimes (1844), Cricket on the Hearth (1845), The Battle of Life (1846), and The Haunted Man (1848). And like A Christmas Carol, all were published in December of their respective years. All five of these books were collected in an omnibus edition – Christmas Books (1852). In a brief preface, he stated: “I have included my little Christmas Books in this cheap edition, complying with a desire that has been repeatedly expressed to me, and hoping that they may prove generally acceptable in so accessible a form.” Pictures of bindings and publishing details of many of his works, including the Christmas Books, can be found here.

Dickens, in collaboration with other writers, also produced Christmas Stories for two of his periodicals he edited – Household Words and All the Year Round. More information on these pieces can be found here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s